Our Secretariat

The network's diverse international secretariat supports legislators by providing policy research, strategic advice, links to policy expertise and staffing for parliamentary initiatives and global events. Our team helps coordinate the activities of the parliamentary network, as well as providing invaluable staff support to MPs in the Climate Parliament.


All team email addresses are [firstname] @ climateparl.net

Sumedha Basu

Policy Director

Sumedha is based in New Delhi. She previously worked as a senior consultant in the renewable energy division of ITP Senergy Ltd, a leading energy and climate change consultancy. Trained in environmental sciences, Sumedha specializes in strategic consulting on renewable energy, political and regulatory analysis, and financial modelling for renewable energy projects.

Dr. Aoife Byrne

Network Coordinator

Aoife holds a master's degree from Trinity College Dublin and a doctorate in English Literature at the University of Cambridge, where she researched women's writing during wartime. Aoife worked as a Production Editor at Routledge, under the Earthscan imprint, where she produced academic books on the environment and sustainability. She is based in Dublin.

Eliza Cocksworth

Network Coordinator

Based in Brighton, Eliza studied French at King's College, London, having spent a year studying abroad at the Sorbonne in Paris and the University of Montreal in Canada. She has experience as a political campaigner and in community organisations.

Nicholas Dunlop


A former Secretary-General of Parliamentarians for Global Action and Executive Director of EarthAction, Nick has long experience of organising innovative global political networks. He worked as a consultant on political engagement for the United Nations and has worked with Leonardo DiCaprio and other celebrities on climate campaigns. Nick was co-recipient of the first Indira Gandhi Prize, presented by the President of India for his work on convening a group of heads of government to help end the Cold War called the Six Nation Peace Initiative. He is a citizen of Ireland, New Zealand and South Africa.

Mike Eames

Communications Coordinator

Mike has worked in communications and media relations for over 20 years. He worked for WWF on their climate change campaign and Greenpeace on nuclear waste issues. He also worked as a press officer for a UK MP, as a parliamentary lobbyist and he managed transport communications for the London 2012 Olympic Games. In his spare time, co-founded a development education centre. Mike is based in the UK in Brighton.

Clara Gobbe

Network Coordinator

A trained lawyer, Clara holds a Masters Degree in International and European Law, with a specialisation in Environmental Law. She worked as a Public Affairs Manager at Animalhealth Europe, a European association representing the veterinary medicine sector and promoting better animal, public and environmental health. In her personal time, Clara is actively engaged in advocacy on climate change and sustainability issues. She is based in Brussels.

Léa Hillaireau

Network Coordinator

Léa trained as a lawyer in France. After graduating from a Masters in European Law and Politics, she worked as a legal assistant at the Council of Notariats of the European Union, an organisation that promotes efficient access to justice for all in Europe. Léa has also volunteered for Notre Affaire à Tous, a French non-profit that uses litigation to fight climate change and promotes the recognition of environmental rights in legislation.

Bibiana Jones

Senior Advisor

A former Argentine diplomat, Bibiana served as Ambassador to Algeria, Kenya, Tanzania and Rwanda. She was the Permanent Representative to UNEP and UN Habitat in Nairobi. She served as Deputy Head of the Northern Africa and Middle East Department, and as Head of the Sub-Saharan Africa Department at the Argentine Foreign Ministry. Bibiana now lives in Spain, which was her first diplomatic post.

Itishree Kanungo

State Coordinator, Odisha

Itishree actively mobilises legislative action by state legislators for low carbon development and the promotion of renewable energy. She has worked in the development sector for 17 years. Itishree is an expert in political advocacy, action research, livelihood planning, monitoring and evaluation, and low carbon development. She obtained her graduate degree from the Xavier Institute of Management. Before joining the Climate Parliament, Itishree worked as senior director of the Voluntary Health Association of India.

Mohamed Komara

Africa Coordinator

Originally from Guinea, Mohamed is a governance specialist. After studying Political Science, he obtained a Masters in Ethics and Governance and a second Masters in Development, Governance and Public Management at Senghor University in Alexandria. He worked on institutional governance with UNDP in Côte d'Ivoire and is the author of the book 'Citizen Participation of Young People in Côte d'Ivoire: Analysis of UNDP Actions Through the Support Project for the Empowerment of Youth Organisations'.

Dr. Sanjay Kumar

Senior Advisor

Dr. Sanjay Kumar is Director-General of Forests and Director of Wildlife Preservation of the Government of India. He previously received special permission from the Prime Minister to take a long-term leave of absence to be part of the Climate Parliament secretariat, and oversaw the launch of our work in India. He combines long experience as a political decision maker with an in-depth knowledge of climate, forest and energy issues. He holds a PhD in Poverty and Rural Livelihoods from Cambridge University.

Dr. Sergio Missana

Executive Director

Sergio is a well-known Chilean author. He holds a PhD in Spanish from Stanford University and teaches literature part-time at Stanford’s Santiago Programme. He served as Director of Publications and Head of International Relations at the BBVA Foundation in Madrid and was a member of the Governing Council of the European Foundation Centre in Brussels. He was an editor of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission report on human rights violations committed by the Chilean military dictatorship between 1973 and 1990.

Lucy Pearson

Network Coordinator

Based in London, Lucy comes from a background of legal innovation and strategy consulting. She was previously COO and Research Director for the Financial Times Innovative Lawyers global report series and has facilitated roundtables and large-scale events across Asia, Europe and North America. She holds an honours degree in government and international relations from the University of Sydney in Australia, and recently completed courses with London Business School, SOAS and others on climate change and sustainability.

Mukul Sharma

Asia Director

Mukul is a Delhi-based academic, writer and development professional specialized in environmental, social and human rights issues. He has received 12 national and international awards for his environmental and human rights journalism. He served as India Director of Amnesty International and the Heinrich Böll Foundation, and as Director of the Bangkok-based AIDS Society of Asia and the Pacific. He is a part-time Professor of Environmental Studies at Ashoka University in Delhi.

Ayisha R. Wadhwa

Media & Administrative Coordinator

Ayisha Ramesh Wadhwa is based in New Delhi. She works with South Asian parliamentarians to help drive the transition to renewable energy in their constituencies. Since completing her MBA, Ayisha gained more than ten years of experience in the finance and insurance sector. Before joining the Climate Parliament, she worked as the Relationship Manager at HDFC Bank, one of the largest banks in India.

Follow us:

  • Facebook Basic
  • Twitter Basic
  • LinkedIn Basic
  • Instagram

Climate Parliament Belgium is a registered non-profit ASBL

Climate Parliament UK is a registered charity                                                          

Conditions of Use